Mississippi on the Potomac 2020 – Thanks to Our Supporters


Mississippi on the Potomac 2020 was a great success!


On behalf of the Board of Directors and the entire staff of the Mississippi Center for Justice, thank you so much for your generous support in honor of our mutual friend and 2020 Mississippi on the Potomac honoree, Donald B. Verrilli, Jr., and our vital work for the people of Mississippi.


Achieving justice is non-negotiable; it is our mission. Because of your generosity, we will continue fighting to advance racial, economic, and social justice. We will continue our crucial role in helping Mississippians build better lives for a better future.


We especially thank our sponsors, supporters, partners, and friends who helped make MCJ’s first-ever virtual event so memorable:



Jonathan L. Abram
Hogan Lovells

Judith N. Batty

Martha Bergmark
Founder – Mississippi Center for Justice
Voices for Civil Justice

Walter Dellinger
O’Melveny & Myers LLP

Shirlethia V. Franklin
Jones Day

Gail W. Laster

Judith L. Lichtman
National Partnership for Women & Families

David W. Ogden
Former U.S. Deputy Attorney General

Andrew J. Pincus
Mayer Brown LLP

Robert Raben
The Raben Group




Bergman Draper Oslund Udo
Barbara and David Lipman
Louisa and Jim Rudolph
Vangela and Thandi Wade


Champions of Justice
Dr. Edward Bergmark
The Laster-Verrilli Family
Latham & Watkins LLP
Emily Maw and Rob McDuff
Mayer Brown LLP
Munger, Tolles & Olson LLP
O’Melveny & Meyers LLP
Sidley Austin LLP
Ellen Weiss


Guardians of Justice
Akin Gump Strauss Hauer & Feld LLP
Martha Bergmark and Elliott Andalman
Lisa Foster
Hogan Lovells
Mary F. Miller
The Nussbaum/Kuhn Foundation
David W. Ogden
Ruth and Stephen Pollak
Michael P. Rogan
Ivy and Stephen Snider
Charles J. Wortman and Laura F. Baldwin



Caplin & Drysdale
Hill Country Project
Tom Perrelli
UDC David A. Clarke School of Law, Service-Learning Program



AARP Foundation
Debo P. Adegbile
Andalman & Flynn, P.C.
Judith N. Batty
Chubb Insurance
Susan M. Davies
Maureen F. Del Duca
James Feldman
Marc L. Fleischaker
Alexander D. Forger
Shirlethia V. Franklin
David Frederick
Tanya George and Norman Rosenberg
C. Paige Gutierrez and Gerald Blessey
Bill Hassler
Susan and Alan Houseman
Karen Lash and Martha Ertman
Judith and Elliott Lichtman
Hal Malchow
M.W. Murphy Foundation
National Legal Aid & Defender Association
Amelie L. Ratliff
Sara and Bill Ray
John P. Relman
Elizabeth Taylor and David DeBruin
Pat Verrilli and Joe Wayland
Seth P. Waxman